top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrandon Marquez

2nd Football Game

So the first post was my actual 2nd game because the first game was so incredibly horrible. But I'll try my best.

This experience after the first game was 100 times better.


There were absolutely no lighting issues during my second game. It wasn't too dark, too light, it was perfect.

There also was no speed problems even though college ball is much faster than high school ball.

I automatically knew to keep moving around to get in the best spots for pictures this time around. Last time my positioning was off and I looked like I didn't know what I was doing.


I hadn't realized I had as many good photos as I have until I uploaded them to Lightroom at school. If I checked my camera I felt like I would miss something good to shoot.



From the 1000+ images I shot, I only got about 40-50 decent ones and 20-30 good ones. But to maybe increase the number I need to work on my positioning more so the camera can focus on what I want it to instead of focusing on a random object.




The lens I used for just about the entire game was an EF 70-200mm f/2.



The camera settings were constantly being changed as the game went on, I went to F/4, 1/200 shutter speed, 100 ISO, to start the game because it was bright and there was almost no shade in the stadium if you were on the field. But toward the end when it started to get dark I was at F/4, 1/400 shutter speed, and 1600 ISO.


The amount of time editing the second game was a lot longer than the first. There were so many pictures that were good so I thought to look through all 1000+ to make sure I tried to not miss any. It in total probably took about a week but I could have shortened that time.



Lastly, Spray and Pray or wait to shoot. Honestly it depends on the situation. If you happen to be in a spot where you can't exactly see too clearly then spray and pray and hope for the best. But if you can see exactly what's going on and know what's gonna happen then wait for that perfect moment.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page